Master Conservationist Awards 2009 Winners

The Master Conservationist program was established in 1983 to recognize those who have excelled in soil and water conservation. The program has been expanded from production agriculture to residential, community and youth categories. Anyone can submit nominations, including self nominations.

Production Agriculture awards are presented annually to five Nebraska agriculturalists, one in each of five Master Conservationist Districts, who have excelled in the use of new and traditionally acknowledged methods of soil and water conservation in farming or ranching operations.

There are five Residential, Community and Youth awards. These statewide awards will be presented to individuals or groups who have excelled in taking a holistic approach to making wise use of soil and water resources while maintaining and enhancing the environment.

Award recipients are selected by a committee of judges representing the Institute of Agriculture and Natural Resources at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln, the Nebraska Association of Resources Districts, Natural Resources Districts and the Nebraska office of the USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service.

Use the links on the right side of this page to download more information or to submit a nomination online.

The deadline for submissions is April 1, 2010


2009 Master Conservationist Winners & Honorable Mentions

District A – Production Agriculture Award Winner
Lynn and Marlene Myers
Lewellen, Nebraska

District B
Thorval Hansen
Carson Lake Ranch
Burwell, Nebraska

District C
Don and Ruby Arduser
Laurel, Nebraska

District D
Stan Pilcher
Curtis, Nebraska

District E
Rod Christen
Steinauer, Nebraska

Community – Public
Serenity Garden Club
Scottsbluff, Nebraska

Community – Private

Community – Youth – Group

Community – Youth – Individual