Master Conservationist Awards 2011 Winners

The Master Conservationist program was established in 1983 to recognize those who have excelled in soil and water conservation and protection. The program has been expanded from a production agriculture focus to now include community conservation efforts, as well as youth’s efforts in conservation. Current awards focus on recognition of excellence in water management and conservation. Anyone can submit nominations, including self nominations.

Production Agriculture awards are presented annually to Nebraska agriculturalists that have excelled in the use of new, innovative and traditionally methods of water conversation in farming or ranching operations.

Community awards are presented to individuals or groups who have excelled in taking a holistic approach to wise use of water resources while maintaining and enhancing the environment.

Youth awards are presented to individuals or groups who implement unique ways to sustain water resources while creating new opportunities to improve the environment.

In each category there will be one overall winner and one honorable mention.

Use the links on the right side of this page to download more information or to submit a nomination online.


Congratulations to the 2011 Master Conservationist Award Winners!

The deadline to submit nominations is February 1, 2013.

The date for the 2013 banquet is set for September 23, 2013. Winners will be featured in the Omaha World-Herald on September 22nd.

2011 Production Agriculture, Listed by District Areas

A Plum Thicket Farms LLC, Rex and Nancy Peterson, Pat and Krista Peterson, Gordon

B Stan and Mary Schloz Scottsdale, Arizona and Lamoine and Helen Hall, Bartlett

C Robert C. Huntley, Norfolk

D Bunker Hill Farms—Bill, Blake and Brian Johnson, Holdrege

E Burdette and Virginia Piening, Lincoln

Statewide Categories

Residential: Brian and Cathy White, Albion

Community Public: None

Community Private: Jim and Tammi Anderson, Hartington

Community-Youth Group: Wisner-Pilger FFA Chapter, West Point

Community Youth Individual – None